Wednesday, April 18, 2012

RUSH - 'Headlong Flight' Single Streaming In Its Entirety

Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 at 13:12:00 EST

'Headlong Flight', the first single from RUSH's 20th studio album Clockwork Angels, is currently streaming in its entirety (7:20) at Rolling Stone.

"'Headlong Flight' was one of those songs that was a joy to write and record from beginning to end," frontman Geddy Lee tells Rolling Stone. "Alex [Lifeson] and I had blast jamming in my home studio one day before the second leg of the Time Machine tour, and I did not revisit that jam until a year later."

Read the more at Rolling Stone.

The digital version of 'Headlong Flight', will be available on April 20th.

Check out a pre-order below:

Clockwork Angels will be released on June 12th via Anthem/Universal in Canada and their debut for Anthem/Roadrunner Records in the US.

This is the band's first new collection of original material in over five years. Marking their 20th studio album, Clockwork Angels lyrically chronicles a young man’s quest across a lavish and colourful world of steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams. The story features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life.

The recording of Clockwork Angels began in April 2010 at Nashville’s Blackbird studios with Grammy Award winning producer Nick Raskulinecz (FOO FIGHTERS, DEFTONES) – who also collaborated with the band on their last studio album, 2007’s Snakes & Arrows. Rush co-produced both records.

The songs 'Caravan' and 'BU2B' were completed during that first session and performed nightly during Rush’s wildly successful Time Machine Tour, which ran from June 2010 to June 2011. Work on Clockwork Angels resumed in the fall of 2011 at Revolution Recording in Toronto after the tour’s finale, with additional strings (arranged by David Campbell) recorded at Hollywood’s Ocean Way Studios earlier this year.

Check out the artwork below:

Clockwork Angels tracklisting is as follows:

'Clockwork Angels'
'The Anarchist'
'Halo Effect'
'Seven Cities Of Gold'
'The Wreckers'
'Headlong Flight'
'Wish Them Well'
'The Garden'

Check out a 30-second trailer below:

Colorado-based sci-fi author Kevin J. Anderson is writing a novelization Clockwork Angels. ECW Press has announced a September 1st street date for the novel which is 264 pages in length, with author credits going to Kevin J. Anderson and Rush drummer Neil Peart.

Rush are expected to make their official 2012 Clockwork Angels tour announcement tomorrow, April 19th, RushIsABand have compiled information leaked online (and backed up by other sources) to announce the following Clockwork Angels tour dates:

7 - Manchester, NH - Verizon Wireless Arena
9 - Washington, DC - Jiffy Lube Live
11 - Pittsburgh, PA - CONSOL Energy Center
13 - Indianapolis, IN - Klipsch Music Center
15 - Chicago, IL - United Center
18 - Detroit, MI - Palace of Auburn Hills
20 - Columbus, OH - Nationwide Arena
22 - St. Louis, MO - Scottrade Center
24 - Minneapolis, MN - Target Center
26 - Winnipeg, MB - MTS Center
28 - Saskatoon, SK - Credit Union Center
30 - Edmonton, AB - Rexall Place

10 - Bridgeport, CT - Webster Bank Arena
12 - Philadelphia, PA - Wells Fargo Center
14 - Toronto, ON - Air Canada Center
18 - Montreal, QC - Bell Centre
20 - Newark, NJ - Prudential Center
22 - Brooklyn, NY - Barclays Center
24 - Boston, MA - TD Garden
26 - Buffalo, NY - First Niagra Center
28 - Cleveland, OH - Quicken Loans Arena
30 - Charlotte, NC - Time Warner Cable Arena

1 - Atlanta, GA - Verizon Wireless Ampitheater
3 - Tampa, FL - 1-800-ASK-GARY Ampitheater
13 - Seattle, WA - Key Arena
15 - San Jose, CA - HP Pavillion
17 - Anaheim, CA - Honda Center
18 - Los Angeles, CA - Gibson Ampitheater
23 - Las Vegas, NV - MGM Grand
25 - Phoeniz, AZ - US Airways Center
28 - Dallas, TX - American Airlines Center
30 - San Antonio, TX - AT&T Center

2 - Houston, TX - Toyota Center

Stay tuned for official confirmation.

Total Pageviews

Popular Posts